Puget Systems print logo

https://www.pugetsystems.com


Peak

A powerful, enterprise-class 3U rackmount server with dual Intel Xeon E5 processors and up to 8 NVIDIA Tesla or GPU cards.

Puget Systems Professional Advice

Jeff Stubbers (Mr. Customer Service)
Jeff Stubbers (Mr. Customer Service) Says:
With room for up to 8 Tesla cards, this 3U Puget Peak rackmount can be configured to offer a lot of compute performance in a single dual-CPU system.

Reviews from Reseller Ratings


Read what our customers have to say about Puget Systems!

While reviews and awards from major publications are great, nothing speaks louder than the words of our customers.

feedback author avatar

Jedidiah Mitchell

From NYC

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon a week ago

"I've been using custom PC workstations for film post production & VFX since the early 2000s, and I've always preferred to build them myself for cost savings & flexibility.

When my current studio brought up the idea of purchasing a pre-built workstation to replace our (woefully insufficient) Mac Pro 6,1 color grading system I was hesitant to let someone else assemble a box for me. I wasn't thrilled with the configuration options on many vendor websites, and the cost premium seemed a little high, but our EP wanted to give it a shot with Puget due to their apparent focus on the post production industry.

First, my concerns about flexibility were addressed in about 5 minutes on the phone with Puget: they took my requests, understood why I was making them, and proposed a custom build not available through the online tools which met all my needs, even down to specific wire routing for ease of future upgrades. Really surprised that the first person I spoke with -- in sales no less (not engineering) -- was so knowledgeable about build options and why a customer might want something "off-menu" like I did.

Second, when we got the new workstation it was just as fast as I expected from the parts list, but the big surprises for me have been how stable it is, how well laid out the box is, and more than anything else how *shockingly* quiet the system is even under maximum load. They warned me that with some of my custom requests the sound dampening wouldn't be as effective as stock options, but I don't even know what that means in practice: we have laptops, water-cooled systems, tiny desktop RAIDs, etc -- all of them are louder at idle than this box is under maximum load. Hell, our router is louder than this thing. Really impressive tuning & testing, far better than I've ever done for myself.

In addition to the great build, some 3rd party hardware did not function as expected when we initially received the system -- despite it not being their responsibility they have been responsive and helpful in diagnosing the issues and we've been very happy with support so far. Having struggled with workstation support from Boxx & Dell in the past this was a very pleasant surprise.

I love tinkering with hardware so I intend to continue building my own workstations at home, but for anyone on the fence about buying pre-built, this is the bar for how it's done."
feedback author avatar

mm

From Chicago, Illinois

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 2 weeks ago

"I ordered a 4-GPU digits machine for a deep learning project at work. Jeremy was helpful getting the machine configured and when it turned out the CPU I selected wasn't available from any of their suppliers, Jeremy and Wilson upgraded the CPU to another one they had in stock, answered some of technical questions about it, and expedited shipping so the order would make it in time. I got the machine a day ago, and it's already running at 100% and saving us $100s of dollars per day that we would otherwise pay for AWS. Very happy with Puget!"
feedback author avatar

gc

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 2 weeks ago

"In my search for a new computer I found two websites that were easy for me to navigate and read: AvaDirect and Puget Systems!

I tried using both sites for pricing but in my case it just did not matter as I had already decided on a specific video card type, a specific minimum amount of RAM and once I knew more about the available hard drives a specific hard drive!

I went with Puget Systems because their site was (at least for me) was easier to navigate and at the time their customization selection was the only one that allowed me to combine all three (video card, RAM and hard drive) that I wanted into one computer!

Also, their help section for comparing specific item choices and an explanation of what it is and what it does helped me out a lot!"
feedback author avatar

Alex D.

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 2 months ago

"This was my first experience with Puget Systems, a company that I found when researching custom pc builders online. I wanted a custom computer which would be adequate for some video editing but I am not a professional and didn't want to go overboard. I was able to get a custom configuration via email in response to my email request within 2 days (I sent it Friday night and received a reply on Sunday) which met all my requirements while being affordable. I actually used the specifications and looked to see what it would have cost me to order all the parts and build the PC myself and the parts alone came within $200 of my total cost with shipping from Puget Systems. Puget's web page allowed me to follow the build step by step and I received my computer within 2 weeks of placing the order - if FedEx had not pushed back the delivery date it would have been 3 days earlier. The build quality is excellent and I am very happy with the performance."
feedback author avatar

Aaron StPierre

From Albuquerque, New Mexico

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 3 months ago

"Let me start by saying that I've been building PC's for years. As you can imagine it was difficult for me to wrap my head around paying the extra money to have them build, test & install my system. Anyway it was time to upgrade my last build and I called Puget and spoke with them about my needs and concerns. I worked with Oscar who assured me that many of their clients are just like me: totally capable but time constrained.

After looking at the actual cost difference I decided to give them a shot! All I can so is that I'm so glad that I did!

I was involved throughout the whole process. The status updates, thermal images and pictures of my computer made the process a joy. The only thing I did miss out on was the actual building the machine but honestly I've built enough computers in my lifetime...

So what's the big deal right? Anyone can put together a machine right? Yes it's true but Puget Systems really goes the extra mile. From the burn in testing to bench marking to thermal imaging under load. Every aspect of the system is meticulously completed and the build steps were presented and checked off every step of the way.

What really put me over the edge with just how much they care is the binder that's included in the accessories which is a complete build log of the system.

I saved a ton of time by having them complete my build but I got a whole lot more than just a computer. I now have a relationship with a company that truly cares about their customers and the products that they create.

Thank you guys very much!
Aaron J. St. Pierre"
feedback author avatar

JGDillon

From Frederick

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 3 months ago

"I was sold on Puget Systems after spending an hour so on their extremely informative web site which describes various computer options tailored to a users’ needs. Their concise reviews of each component was easy to understand and navigate. I purchased a basically “stock” PC that I felt met my needs. Online ordering was seamless and fun to “watch” my computer being built. On-time shipment, packaging, and accompanying documentation were superb. Subsequent contact with the company to request several SATA cables and hard copies of the BIOS settings were answered quickly followed by FedEx shipment. Conversations were informative, professional - yet friendly. And Puget Systems followed up to make sure they had answered my needs! After about four months using the system on a daily basis, the computer has been rock-solid and a pleasure to turn on each morning. Kudos to Puget Systems. While I have built my own systems in the past (and, to be sure, it is a rewarding experience), my experience with Puget Systems was extremely positive and I highly recommend them."
feedback author avatar

Andy LeBold

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 4 months ago

"If you go to most big box stores, you will find several national brand desktop PCs that are sold at bargain basement prices. If you are lucky, the PC will last for a couple of years, and then it will start acting up – bad memory chips, unreliable hard drives, cheap motherboards, etc. I have purchased plenty of inexpensive PCs, and I have now reached a stage in my life where I am simply tired of compromising. After my last desktop died a horrible death after just two years of use, I decided to get a quality computer. This time I wanted a custom Puget Systems PC. Why Puget Systems? Well, Puget Systems is very well known for their excellent customer service. They helped me configure a custom PC that will meet all of my needs today, as well as several years in the future. I really liked that Puget’s PCs are carefully hand-built in the USA by technicians who really like their jobs and want to build quality computers.

It should be noted that Puget Systems only use the very best components, and all of the computers built by the company are carefully QC tested for a couple of days. I ended up buying a Puget Serenity Pro PC, and it is without a doubt the quietest computer I have ever owned. It is lightning fast, and it is truly the very best computer I have ever owned. I think there is an old adage that truly applies to my purchase -- You Get What You Pay For!"
feedback author avatar

Carena Pooth

From Poughquag

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 8 months ago

"I would recommend Puget Systems to anyone looking for a computer that is built to meet their specific needs AND built to last.
I purchased a custom system from Puget in August 2014. I wanted to wait a while before writing a review. Well, here we are 3 years later and I am finally writing that review:
I could not have had a better experience. Before I found Puget Systems, I had been buying computers since the 1980s, always well known computer brands. That was not a bad approach for the most part, but I now knew that I wanted a system that had the performance I needed for my workflow without the unnecessary bells & whistles aimed at gamers and without all the bloatware that comes with most computers from the big brands. At the same time, I wanted to feel comfortable that I was making the right hardware and software choices and that I'd have the necessary support if something went wrong.
So I started researching my options online and came upon Puget Systems. I was impressed by the detailed information they provided on their website -- not only about their product, but about their company, their philosophy, and their people (those PEOPLE are a huge part of their success). In addition, there was a ton of information about computers on their website. This information helped me understand what I really needed to focus on to best meet my needs. I started configuring a system and was impressed with their dedicated support during the sales process. William George was very responsive to my many questions via email, making recommendations on what I'd need without overselling in any way. In fact, he convinced me to scale back my choices on a couple of things in order to save me some money. Once we had settled on all the specifics, I loved getting photos of the system before it was shipped. Even more, I loved getting a binder with photos, a video, and excellent documentation and test results for MY unique system when the computer arrived. I still have that binder right next to the computer, so that it's handy when something breaks. But nothing has broken and I've had no need to contact Puget. The system is still performing very well. The Puget website is still chock full of useful information that was never presented by other sellers when i bought other systems.
The biggest risk for me to consider was that Puget is so far away and if something went wrong with the hardware I could be stuck for a while. I was given the option to purchase an onsite support contract. But I had decent backup systems, both online and offline, and another computer I could switch to in a pinch, so I decided not to buy the additional insurance. Fortunately, I have not had a need to test my backup scheme in spite of my heavy use of the system for the past 3 years.
I repeat:
I would recommend Puget Systems to anyone looking for a computer that is built to meet their specific needs AND built to last."
feedback author avatar

Kendra Yourtee

From Seattle

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 8 months ago

"System arrived early, in pristine condition. The cable work was the best I've ever seen! And the problems I had (which I caused) were swiftly fixed. The customer support is top notch.

Seriously, this is a GREAT experience. Kudos to Puget Systems."
feedback author avatar

Sai Nayar

From Springfield MO

star yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow iconstar yellow icon 10 months ago

"I just received my Puget System PC today. I must say that from start to finish it has been an incredible experience. Never have I experienced such top notch customer service! Emails are answered promptly. The meticulous detail involved in the builds are impressive. I had a lot of customization requirements and all was accomplished without difficulty. I had a previous frustrating experience with another large PC builder and while they tried to do the best they could I ran into a lot of difficulties and the lack of communication was a major issue. No problems like that here. I feel that if I do run into problems I can easily get the answer from Puget Systems and have full confidence in them. They really make you feel special and the transparency with giving you all the details of the build as its happening as well as pictures of the bios and of your system with thermal imaging etc is quite impressive. Also, the system is so quiet. I am thoroughly impressed with the company and Jeff Stubbers for all his help. I am a customer for life!

Sai"

Read more testimonials from Puget Systems clients.

Read all customer testimonials.